Our Research Community

The Prime Minister’s Chief Science Advisor, Kaitohutohu Mātanga Pūtaiao Matua ki te Pirimia, often relies on respected colleagues, and a community of scientists and researchers, to produce reports and advice. In order to ensure that that advice, and those panel of advisors, comes from all parts of the science, research and technology system, the office maintains a list of contacts who can help connect Juliet and the office to that community.

Below is our list of contacts from the New Zealand research community, and their institutions. It is not exhaustive nor complete. If your institution is not on this list, please contact institutional research leaders and encourage them to contact us.

If there is a call for panellists to assist in a project, individual researchers should contact their institutional contact in the first instance.

The Independent Research Association of NZ Association Dr Rob Whitney
New Zealanders for Health Research Association Chris Higgins
Bio-Protection Research Centre CoRE Professor Travis Glare
Ngā Pae o te Māramatanga CoRE Professor Jacinta Ruru and Professor Linda Waimarie Nikora
QuakeCore CoRE Dr Susie Meade
Te Pūnaha Matatini CoRE Professor Shaun Hendy
The MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology CoRE Professor Nicola Gaston
The Maurice Wilkins Centre CoRE Professor Rod Dunbar
The Medical Technologies CoRE CoRE Professor Merryn Tawhai
AgResearch CRI Dr. Jolon Dyer
ESR CRI Professor Brett Cowan
Plant and Food Research CRI Dr David Hughes
Scion CRI Dr Elspeth Macrae
ITP Research ITP Dr Marcus Williams
RIMU – Research and Evaluation Unit, Auckland Council Council Eva McLaren
Otago Museum Museum Craig Grant
A Better Start NSC Prof. Wayne Cutfield
Healthier Lives NSC Prof Jim Mann
High-Value Nutrition NSC Joanne Todd
New Zealand’s Biological Heritage NSC Dr Andrea Byrom
Our Land and Water NSC Dr Ken Taylor
Science For Technological Innovation NSC Professor Sally Davenport
Sustainable Seas NSC Dr Julie Hall
The Deep South NSC Dr Mike Williams
AUT University University Dr Rosanne Ellis
Massey University University Prof Giselle Byrnes
University of Auckland University Alexandra Thomas
University of Canterbury University Mr Jace Carson
University of Otago University Prof Richard Blaikie
University of Waikato University Dr Simon Lovatt
Victoria University of Wellington University Prof Margaret Hyland
Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Wānanga Dr Shireen Maged
Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Wānanga Professor Te Kani Kingi



  Phone: + 64 9 923 6318

Mailing Address

Office of the Prime Minister's Chief Science Advisor
The University of Auckland
Private Bag 92019
Victoria Street West
Auckland 1142
New Zealand